Friday, February 23, 2024
We apologize, but the page formatting is not visible because you are using an older browser. We recommend upgrading to a standards-compliant browser. Without such, this page will remain viewable, though unformatted.

Presidential Succession
by Jim Milligan

Most of us know that the Vice President succeeds the President in case of the President's removal from office or his/her death or resignation. But, what is the rest of the chain of succession. The 25th Amendment to the Constitution sets out the order of succession to the Vice President. Federal legistalation determined the remainder of the succession. Here are the first 10 successions to the President.

 Order   Office        
1 Vice President
2 Speaker of the House of Representatives
3 President pro tempore of the Senate
4 Secretary of State
5 Secretary of the Treasury
6 Secretary of Defense
7 Attorney General
8 Secretary of the Interior
9 Secretary of Agriculture
10 Secretary of Commerce

To cite this page:

Milligan, Jim. Presidential Succession, JoshuaNet, . <>